Skin covers about 20 feet around our body; it’s the largest organ in our body.

Skin has basic three layers:

  • Epidermis, the outermost layer of skin which acts as a waterproof barrier and creates our skin tone.
  • The dermis is beneath the epidermis which contains hard connective tissue, hair follicles, and the sweat glands.
  • The hypodermis, the deeper tissue made up of fat and connective tissues.

A special type of cells named melanocytes, are situated in the epidermis which produces a pigment named melanin which is responsible for the color of the skin.

Read More:

Leave a Comment